Online Sheet MusicOnline Score Special Collections
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Skip to the content.
Admin Sign In 

Music   Tags: music  

Last update: Dec 16, 2011 URL: http://louisville.libguides.com/music  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Find ArticlesPrint Page
  Search: 
 
 

Music Research Guides

Click on the links below to access specific research guides. This list is being updated. Check back soon for more guides!

Audiology
by James Procell - last updated on Sep 7, 2010
Bassoon Resources
by James Procell - last updated on Feb 18, 2011
Clarinet Resources
by James Procell - last updated on Jan 4, 2011
Flute Resources
by James Procell - last updated on Apr 14, 2010
Music
by Karen Little - last updated on Dec 16, 2011
Music Psychology
by James Procell - last updated on Aug 16, 2010
Oboe Resources
by James Procell - last updated on Jan 4, 2011
Theatre /Performing Arts/Film
by Latisha Reynolds - last updated on Dec 16, 2011
This guide contains online and print resources for theatre and the performing arts.
Trombone Resources
by James Procell - last updated on Aug 31, 2010
Trumpet Resources
by James Procell - last updated on Aug 31, 2010
Tuba Resources
by James Procell - last updated on Jan 4, 2011
 

Multi-database search

  • RILM Music
  • International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
  • International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text
 

Finding articles

Articles in periodicals (journals, magazines, etc.) are not accessible via the library catalog, Minerva. To find articles, you should start with a periodical index or a full-text periodical database, such as those listed below. Many articles are available in full-text PDF format from the database. For articles that are not available in full-text, use the citation for the article you found in the online database, and search for the journal title (not the article title) in Minerva. This will allow you to search our library's journal collection to discover if we subscribe to the journal you need. 

If you discover that we subscribe to the print version of the journal, and that the volume and issue number you need is available, you can find the journals on the 3rd floor of the music library. Current issues of periodicals are available on the wall to your left as you exit the elevator. Older volumes have been bound and are available in the 3rd floor stacks.

If the article you need is not available in full-text format, and we do not subscribe to the journal that contains the article, don't worry! You can still obtain a copy of the article by requesting it through Interlibrary Loan.

Below, you will find a listing of periodical databases that are related to music. To learn more about the coverage of each database covers, click in the blue "i" located next to the name of the database.  For a complete listing of all databases available (not just music databases,) please click here.

 

List of Journals Available Electronically

Do you want to know which music journals are available in full-text electronic format?


Click here to go the electronic journal listing on the music library's website.

Music Databases

Use these databases to find music-related articles and/or essays in journals/magazines.

Director, Music Library

Profile Image
Karen Little
Contact Info:
Music Library
(502) 852-5659
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait