Health Departments & CentersKy. State Agencies
Louisville & Southern Indiana General HospitalsKentucky Hospitals - by CountySpecialzed hospitals in Kentucky
Kentucky Cancer Resources and Services
End of Life CaregivingKentucky Resources
Services for Health ProfessionalsServices for Consumers
Kentucky Resources
This is the "General Sites" page of the "Consumer and Patient Health Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University of Louisville
University Libraries
Research Guides
 

Consumer and Patient Health Resources  

Welcome to the Consumer and Patient Health Resource Guide prepared by the University of Louisville's Kornhauser Health Sciences Library. If you need assistance with this Guide, or in finding health information, feel free to contact me. Carol S. Brinkman
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2014 URL: http://louisville.libguides.com/consumer Print Guide Email Alerts

General Sites Print Page
  Search: 
 

START HERE

MedlinePlus is the best place to start a search on any health topic. This database from the National Library of Medicine draws from other sites to provide reliable, easy to find consumer/patient information.

  • MedlinePlus
    - Reliable, easy to understand information on diseases, medical conditions, clinical trials, alternative therapies, more.
    - Drugs and supplements section covers prescription and over-the-counter drugs, herbs and supplements.
    - Encyclopedia provides concise information with illustrations on diseases, health conditions, medical procedures and household products.
    - Dictionary gives definition and pronunciation for medical terms, tests, diseases and drugs.
    - English and Spanish

MORE GOOD GENERAL INFORMATION SITES

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    - Information on diseases & health conditions, injury and safety, enviornmental health, workplace health and safety, traveler's health, healthy living, life states and populations.
    - Current interest topics featured at top of page.
    - Available in English and Spanish with adjustable text size.
  • Family Doctor
    - “Conditions A to Z” provides information on common health topics.
    - Use the search box to find links to information on more diseases, conditions, and healthy living topics.
    - Sections for healthy living, women, men, seniors, parents and kids, and advocacy.
    - Smart patient guides, links to health tools, and an over-the-counter guide to drugs and supplements.
    - Available in English and Spanish.
    - American Academy of Family Physicians
  • Health Finder
    - Links to information on diseases, conditions, healthy living issues, drugs, supplements, and more.
    - Consumer guides link to information on topics such as first aid, health insurance, fraud, prescription drugs, support groups and more.
    - Search “Organizations” to find groups that provide health information on the topic you entered.
    - Available in English and Spanish.
    - U. S. Department of Health and Human Services
  • InteliHealth
    - Consumer information on "Diseases & conditions" and
    "Healthy lifestyle".
    - "Your healt"h sections provides information for children' men, seniors, women and more.
    - "Look-it up" section includes a medical dictionary, A to Z list of topics, drug resource center and more.
    Features health commentaries, dental health section, "Ask the Expert" interactive tools and today's news.
    - Harvard Medical School
  • Mayo Clinic
    - Information on diseases and conditions, drugs and supplements, treatment decisions, healthy living,
    managing a health condition and more.
    - Tools for personal health evaluation, a symptom checker, a first aid guide, and ask an expert.
    - Watch videos and slide shows on diseases and conditions, medical procedures, exercises and more.
  • MD Consult - Patient Education
    - Printable information sheets on medical conditions, treatments, medications and medical specialties such as internal medicine, orthopedics, or pediatrics.
    - Many information sheets contain pictures or charts.
    - Available in English and Spanish.
    - Elsevier, Inc.
  • Merck Manual - Home Edition
    - Detailed, authoritative medical information on diseases, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment.
    - Medical concepts are described in everyday language.
    - Search either the text-based version or interactive version.
  • NetWellness
    - Use the alphabetical "Health Topics" list or the search box to find information diseases, conditions, medications, healthy living, and more.
    - “Health Centers” provide information on African Americans, Children, Men, Seniors, and Women health.
    - Includes an “Ask an Expert” feature.
    - University of Cincinnati, Case Western Reserve University & Ohio State University
  • New York Online Access to Health: Advanced Directives by State
    • Resources to help consumers understand terms and differences in do not resuscitate orders, living wills and durable powers of attorney, health care powers of attorney, and more.
    • Links to advance directive resources by state are well organized and include numerous local and state organizations.

Your librarian is

Profile Image
Michel Atlas
Contact Info
Kornhauser Health Sciences Library
502-852-8534
Send Email
 
 

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

University of Louisville

Louisville, Kentucky 40292

phone

PHONE

tel (502) 852-6747

fax (502) 852-8736

mail
star
star
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip