This is the "Books" page of the "Researching Works from the Speed Museum" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University of Louisville
University Libraries
Research Guides
 

Researching Works from the Speed Museum  

Last Updated: Apr 22, 2014 URL: http://louisville.libguides.com/Speed Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Museum Publications

J.B. Speed Art Museum Handbook 
ART N 582 .L8A58 (1973 and 1983 editions)
ART N 582.L8A677 2007 (2007 edition)

The handbooks list selected works in the Museum's collection. Each work is reproduced and discussed. The first two editions are arranged alphabetically. The third edition is arranged by primarily by region and has an index.

                                                                       

Fourteen Seasons of Art Accessions in Kentucky, 1947-1960. 
ART N 582 .L8A57

Divided into three sections, American, Asiatic and European, this handbook covers selected items in the collection. Each item is reproduced and most are also discussed.

                                                                            

A Checklist of Drawings, Paintings and Sculpture in the J.B. Speed Art Museum, 1927-1977.  
ART N 582 .L8A53

Fifteen hundred works are arranged alphabetically by artist in three sections: drawings, paintings and sculpture. Each entry includes artist, country of origin, birth and death dates, title of the work, medium, size and accession number. 
 
The first two numbers in the accession number indicate the year in which the work was acquired. Using the year as a guide, you can check the appropriate volume of the Speed Museum Bulletin for more information.

                                                                                                                                          

Bulletin. (1940 - 1984)
ART x N 582 .L8A3

The Bulletin is indexed by artist and name of the art work. The index to volumes 1 - 23 is in a blue folder shelved with the bound volumes. The index to volumes 24 - 27 and 30 - 32 are in the back of each bound volume.

 

Clipping Files

The Art Library has clipping files across from aisle 13 that may be helpful. Look under "J" for folders with articles on the J.B. Speed Art Museum and its collections.

Books and Journals

If you  cannot find information on an artist or art work, or need more information, widen your search. Instead of looking directly for the artist, use the catalog to find sources on art of the same time period and country. Your artist might be mentioned in surveys or histories of the period, so check the index in the back of the appropriate books. Even if your artist is not mentioned, you can learn about art in that time and place and analyze the assigned art work based on what you have learned about art of that time.

Biographical dictionaries provide information on an artist's life and work. Art encyclopedias may also be helpful. Dictionaries and encyclopedias are on the reference shelves.

To learn how to write about art (analysis, comparison, etc.) see A Short Guide to Writing About Art by Sylvan Barnet. (ART N 7476 .B37 2007)

      
     

    UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

    University of Louisville

    Louisville, Kentucky 40292

    phone

    PHONE

    tel (502) 852-6747

    fax (502) 852-8736

    mail
    star
    star
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip