Artists Business Cards
Dates/Extent : 89 items
Description : This collection of eighty-nine individually designed artists business cards was collected and donated by Julia Duncan who taught in the Fine Arts Department at the University of Louisville from 1970 until she retired in 1982.
Fayette Barnum (1870-1960) papers
Dates/Extent : 1916-1945, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Barnum was an art educator and teacher of design at the Handicraft Guild, a precursor to the Louisville Art Center. She was director of the Louisville Art Center from 1929 to 1944. This collection consists of a 1945 University of Louisville senior thesis by Virginia Ray Caldwell, A Documentary Record of Miss Barnum’s Life and Contributions, which covers Ms. Barnum’s life and a history of the Louisville Art Center, and includes photographs of Ms. Barnum and others in the Louisville art community. The appendices include: copies of some articles and transcriptions of others on Ms. Barnum and the Louisville Art Center; transcriptions of letters concerning Ms. Barnum and the Louisville Art Center; biographies of people mentioned in the thesis; catalogs from the Art Center; lists of members, officers and teachers at the Louisville Handicraft Guild; a list of talks given by Ms. Barnum; and works of art done by Art Center students for the Louisville community. The collection also contains an offprint of an article by Ms. Barnum, "Art in a City Community, Louisville Kentucky," Progressive Education, v. 16, 1939.
Franta Belsky (1921-2000 ) collection
Dates/Extent : ca. 1960-1970, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Franta Belsky is a Czechoslovakian sculptor, living and working in England. This collection consists of correspondence between Belsky and Robert Doherty, then chairman of the Fine Arts Department, University of Louisville, and a notebook of photographs of Belsky's sculptural fountains, each with explanatory text.
Justus Bier (1899-1990)
Dates/Extent : 1946-1969, 9.5 linear ft.
Description :Justus Bier, art historian and authority on 15th-century German sculptor Tilman Riemenschneider, was chair of the department of fine arts at the University of Louisville from 1937 to 1961, then director of the North Carolina Museum of Art until 1970. The collection includes exhibition catalogs; articles; notes; reprints; clippings; and bibliographies on Tilman Reimenschneider, along with correspondence associated with Bier's tenure as chairman of the fine arts department and his biographical information. Also present are his notes on an addition proposed for the Jefferson County Courthouse, correspondence with H. W. Janson regarding Jeno Lanyi's work on Donatello, and personal and professional correspondence with art librarian Margaret Bridwell. Finding Aid for the Justus Bier Papers
Lauralee Bird papers
Dates/Extent : 1933-1972, 2 folders
Description :The focus of this artist's collection is a series of twenty-one black and white drawings inscribed by Bird to poet and editor Harriet Monroe (1860-1936) "H. M." with notes and poems, all signed, titled and dated between 1933 and 1934. Also included are words and music for a "Lullaby by Lauralee Bird," with illustrations of a mother and child set within decorated borders, a black and white line drawing of self-portrait of Bird, and three signed brown and white line drawings, one with the note: "P.S. You haven’t had a star from me in some months. Please accept this one as a token of my esteem." Nine line drawings in brown ink, unsigned, possibly represent costumes for a stage production. Correspondence with art librarian Margaret M. Bridwell in 1972 includes photostats of ten letters from Harriet Monroe to Bird from 1932 to 1936.
Lou Block (1895-1969) collection
Dates/Extent : 1934-1965; 13.5 linear ft., ca. 3,130 photographs
Description : Lou Block was a painter, photographer, muralist, and illustrator who worked with Diego Rivera on the murals for Rockefeller Center. He lived and worked in Louisville from 1951 to 1968, teaching painting and creative photography at the University of Louisville and the Art Center Association. His papers include correspondence with numerous book and journal publishers, officials in the National Youth Administration and Works Progress Administration, the Merchant Marine, United Seaman's Service, War Production Board, Citizens Committee for the Arts, Archives of American Art, and his friend Ben Shahn. Also present are articles by Block, along with illustrations and documentation on his mural designs, including a mural proposed at Riker's Island. The photograph collection includes photographs made in New York in the 1930s, including an Artist's Union strike in 1934, and studies for the Riker's Island murals. Later work includes Block’s photographs made in Louisville, Mexico, New York City, and New Jersey. Block was at work on several book projects at the time of his death and the collection also contains his typescripts and notes on these. Also present are Block's personal collection of photographs with work by Ben Shahn, Alfred Eisenstadt, and Barney Cowherd.
Daniel Boles Papers
Dates/Extent : 1956-1967, 5 folders
Description : Instructor of sculpture at UofL, this collection consists of correspondence with Dr. Justus Bier relating to his work; correspondence with Dr. Dario Covi; data concerning employment at UofL; curriculum vitae; grants and leaves; sculpture exhibition.
Leonard Brecher Tobacco and Chewing Gum Card
Dates/Extent : 1909-1911; 5 linear ft.
Description : The Leonard Brecher Tobacco and Chewing Gum Card Collection contains 154 digital images of baseball cards from the early 20th century. Tobacco, candy, and chewing gum companies printed trade cards or advertising cards to include with their products. Cards in this digital collection come from the American Tobacco Company, American Caramel Company, Colgan Gum Company (of Louisville, Kentucky), John H. Dockman & Sons, and the Standard Caramel Company, and primarily date between 1909 and 1911. View the digital collection: Leonard Brecher Collection
Margaret M. Bridwell (1905-1973) papers
Dates/Extent : 1957-1971, 3.5 linear ft.
Description : Margaret Bridwell, researcher and writer on Kentucky and Louisville history, was art librarian at the University of Louisville from 1957 to 1970. Her papers include research files and manuscripts, as well as her published articles and pamphlets. The most extensive files are on historic preservation in Louisville, particularly the Old Louisville neighborhood. Bridwell was among those who helped bring this historic neighborhood and its many examples of Victorian domestic architecture to national attention. The files also document her work with the Arts Club of Louisville, including a history of the organization Bridwell wrote in 1956, her activity with the Historic Markers Commission in 1962, research on Louisville public school buildings, and her research on pioneer filmmaker D. W. Griffith. That material, arranged in scrapbooks, includes letters of reminiscence from Griffith's relatives and acquaintances, clippings and programs, and is also available on microfilm in the University Archives. Among numerous other projects Bridwell compiled extensive notes on silversmiths in Kentucky, researched the settlement of Louisville in the 18th century, and revived interest in Kentucky photographer Kate Matthews (see also Kate Matthews collection) with a 1963 exhibition Kate Matthews and the Little Colonel. In addition to these research files the Bridwell papers contain her personal correspondence, including four scrapbooks with letters from poet Madeline Cundiff Covi and art historian Dario Covi written between 1958 and 1972, a file of correspondence from artist William Spratling from 1964 to 1965, and family letters regarding World War II. Finding Aid for Margaret M. Bridwell Collection
Clothide Brokow papers
Dates/Extent : 3 linear ft.
Description : Photocopies of articles on ancient art and architecture, photographs of vases, and copies of student papers.
Nettie Yanoff Brudner papers
Dates/Extent : 1972, 1 linear ft.
Description : Manuscript, galley proofs, and original drawings for her book on creative stitchery Painting with a Needle (1972).
John Presley Cain Collection
Dates/Extent : 1946-1947, 1 folder
Description : Letters to Dr. Justus Bier, 1946-47, including 4 handwritten articles by Cain, Psychical Research - a review, Beyond Human Eye, Reflections of an Artist, A forgotten Masterpiece; newspaper clipping of three letters to the editor of The Kentucky Gazette, Shively, Ky. in 1946 about paper shortage, forest conservation and "our artists;" letter from Dr. Justus Bier to the editor of The Kentucky Gazette correcting Mr. Cain's statement that he has received a scholarship in the "Art Association of Kentucky under the direction of Dr. Justus Bier of the Department of Fine Arts of the University of Louisville;" a brief typewritten history of "Le Musee Guimet." Paris, France, sent to Mr. John Presley Cain, by the Musee Guimet, 1946. Note: Cain was a member of the Art Center Association and exhibited his work at the Crit Club.
Christmas Card Collection
Dates/Extent : 1967 to date, 5 linear ft.
Description : The Art Library’s Original Christmas Card collection began in 1967 when Margaret Bridwell purchased at auction 550 cards collected by Louisville artist Nelle Peterson. Most of the cards were made by local artists.List of artists in the Christmas Card collection
Ila E. Chupp scrapbook
Date/Extent : ca. 1900, .5 linear ft.
Description : This scrapbook holds Victorian decorative cards, including calling cards, U.S. Department of Agriculture cards, dated 1887, with illustrations of fruit, and cards advertising products. Among the companies represented are J.P. Coats; New Home Sewing Machine; Hires Root Beer; Dwight's Cow Brand Soda; Arm and Hammer; D.M. Ferry and Co.; Scott's Emulsio;, Brown's Iron Bitter; Diamond Dyes; and Hood's Sarsaparilla.
Dario Covi (1920- ) papers
Date/Extent : 1956-1970, 1 linear ft.
Description : Covering 1956-1970; letters pertaining to offer and acceptance of postions at UofL; applications for grants; curriculum vitae; records of publications; letters of resignation; newspaper articles about Covi; Sketches by Dario A. Covi, 2004. Class notes from the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University, Prof. Karl Lehmann:
Madeline Cundiff Covi (1929- ) materials on artists
Date/Extent : 1986-1994, .5 linear ft.
Description : Correspondence with UofL alum Nancy Jordan Smith; research notes on Augustus Vincent Tack; list of artists in Louisville compiled by Warren and Julie Payne; exhibit labels for art works in Madeline and Dario Covi's personal collection; translation of a 1939 book on sculptor Werther Sever by Giorgio Nicodemi, Milan, Casa Editrice Armando Gorlini; an unpublished manuscript on Franzee Dolbeare.
Barney Cowherd (1923-1972) papers
Date/Extent : 1945-1953, 4 folders
Description : Cowherd was an award winning photographer for the Louisville Courier-Journal. This group includes notices and reviews of his exhibitions and awards, correspondence, and course descriptions for proposed courses in creative photography..
Walter Creese (1919-2002) Collection on Louisville and Kentucky Architecture, City Planning, etc.
Date/Extent : 1947-1961, 2 linear ft.
Description : Walter Creese, who taught at the University of Louisville from 1946-1958, was known for his work in urban planning and design, his excellence in teaching, for building one of the country's most successful programs in architectural history at the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana and for editing the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians. The collection contains notes and newspaper clippings on people and places of architectural significance. Finding Aid for the Walter Creese Collection
The collection also includes 6 letters from Creese to Madeline Cundiff [Covi] in 1955-56 when Creese was at the University of Liverpool. They primarily concern materials for the Art Library but also Creese’s comments on travels and architectural scholarship.
Charles Crodel (1894-1973) papers
Date/Extent : 1957-1964, 6 folders
Description : Crodel, a painter, was visiting professor of painting at the University of Louisville in 1958, 1960 to 1961, and 1964. These materials consist of biographical notes; data concerning exhibitions; student lists and correspondence; and publications.
Brinton B. Davis (1862-1952) papers and photographs
Dates/Extent : ca. early 20th century, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Brinton B. Davis was an architect who practiced in Kentucky, Illinois, Georgia, Mississippi, and Tennessee. His buildings include the Jefferson County Armory and the Audubon Club in Louisville. The collection includes photographs of the architect's works, copies of expense accounts, biographical information, and copies of an address delivered at the Kentucky chapter of the American Institute of Architects in 1937. Original prints of photographs by Louisville photographer Henry Hesse document Davis' architectural sketches and buildings. Among the buildings represented are the Jefferson County, Kentucky, courthouse; Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Kentucky; the Watterson Hotel in Louisville; and the Parkland branch of the Louisville Free Public Library.
Julia Duncan Papers
Dates/Extent : 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Art educator who taught in the Fine Arts Department, University of Louisville from 1970-1982 these papers include typed notes, photographs, newspaper and journal articles for Ralph Fanning's An Outline for the Study of the History of Fine Arts...arranged by students...at Ohio State University (1935). Includes sections on Pre-Helenic art, Greek architecture, Etruscan art and Roman art; 1971 article on Ralph Fanning; program and other materials from the World's Craft Council 1978 in Kyoto, Japan at which Duncan was a delegate. Also letters.
William Fitzgerald Papers
Dates/Extent : 1947-1950 ,1 folder
Description : Letters from Fitzgerald's daughter, Minnie Fitzgerald Foxworthy to Dr. Justus Bier; biographical sketches of William Fitzgerald; lists of paintings and portraits by the artist.
Oliver Frazier (1808-1864) research file
Dates/Extent : 1952-1967, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Oliver Frazier, a Lexington portrait painter, studied with Matthew Jouett and Thomas Sully. The collection includes the notes and writings of Margaret Bridwell and Justus Bier regarding Frazier: a catalog of Frazier's work assembled by Bier; a catalog of works assembled by Nancy Jordan from 1952 with descriptions and sketches; copies of manuscripts by Margaret Bridwell for articles she wrote for a 1967 issue of Antiques Magazine; copies of a manuscript by Justus Bier with a note for the Louisville Courier-Journal; Bridwell's correspondence with Antiques Magazine and others; photographs of Frazier's work; correspondence between Bridwell and William Barrow Floyd, with the prepublication notice of Floyd's book on Matthew Harris Jouett, Joseph Bush, and Oliver Frazier; Bridwell correspondence with Fr. Bonaventure Crowley from 1964 concerning his possible use of the Frazier material for a master's thesis; Bier correspondence regarding photographs and permission to use them; a 1965 term paper by Lynne Meena; a selected Frazier bibliography by Margaret Bridwell, 1967.
Julius Friedman Collection
Dates/Extent : 1967- ,1.5 linear ft.
Description : Julius Friedman is an award-winning graphic designer and co-founder of Images design studio in Louisville, Kentucky. Friedman's work has been featured in major design journals and exhibited in museums nationally and internationally. His work is in the permanent collections of the Museum of Modern Art, the National Gallery of Art, the National Museum of Poster Art (Warsaw, Poland) and various corporate collections. Friedman has also lectured extensively on design in many cities across the country and is co-owner of Chapman-Friedman Gallery. The collection consists of annual reports, calendars, promotional pieces, books and catalogs designed for himself and others, >newspaper clippings and articles about Friedman, ephemera from the Chapman-Friedman Gallery and Images and more than 200 posters, the earliest dating from 1967. Finding Aid for the Julius Friedman Collection
Jim Gatewood (1927-1989) Collection
Dates/Extent : 1985-1991, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Painter and Louisville native Jim Gatewood attended the Art Center Association School and the University of Louisville where he studied under Mary Spencer Nay and Ulfert Wilke, among others. He left Louisville in the early sixties, traveled to Italy and England, and then settled in upstate New York, painting and teaching in the public schools. He also lived in Chelmsford, Massachusetts. This collection primarily consists of materials relating to a memorial exhibition held at Spalding University, November 17 - December 18, 1991.
Marguerite Peters Gifford (1877-1969) collection
Dates/Extent : 1938-1969, 1 linear ft.
Description : A widely traveled artist, Marguerite Peters Gifford left these papers and artifacts including correspondence and other personal papers; documents; manuscripts and notes made during her visits and for talks after she returned home; two lectures by Count Julius Batthany; exhibition catalogs; photographs of scenes and objects which influenced her work, and photographs of her work. The collection also includes her notes on Hungarian food, a sketch book made during her travels, and other drawings and sketches. One sketch details a bare Chinese foot which had been bound. Also present are her tubes of paint, palette, calipers, scissors, brushes and pencils, ruler, palette knife, and a horn cup for cleaning brushes.
Creighton Gilbert (1924-2011) research materials
Dates/Extent : 1947-1956, .5 linear ft.
Description : Art historian and authority in Renaissance art, Creighton Gilbert taught at University of Louisville from 1948 to 1956. The materials in this collection primarily concern old master paintings in Louisville. Included are: a “List of owners of paintings in Louisville, Ky. of which there are photographs in the Frick Art Reference Library, New York,” along with a 1947 letter from Ethelwyn Manning, librarian.; a 1948 letter from Rev. Diomede Pohlkamp about paintings in Catholic churches of Kentucky; an unsigned 1950 letter listing paintings in the following Kentucky churches: St. Joseph’s Proto-Cathedral, Bardstown, St. Thomas Church near Bardstown, Nazareth, Gethsemane, Bivens Farm House near St. Charles, Fairfield rectory, St. Augustine in Lebanon, Loretto Motherhouse, and the Cathedral and St. John’s in Louisville. Also included are: a 1955 letter to Mrs. Henry W. Little of Fort Thomas, KY concerning the authentication of a painting by Vouet or one his followers; a 1956 letter (page 1 only) to Mr. Merrill J. Gross of Cincinnati concerning a painting possibly done by Jan Miel; a 1951 letter from Mrs. T. Raymond Sanders of Louisville requesting Gilbert’s help disposing of a Sassoferrato painting; a 1949 letter from Ingrid-Marta Held concerning photographs of a painting (unidentified) owned by Mr. Karl; a 4 page document dated 1942 that may be a list of paintings owned by the Louisville Free Public Library and the Speed Museum that were restored. The collection also contains a videotape and DVD of a 1997 interview with Creighton Gilbert on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the Allen R. Hite Art Institute.
Vito Girone (1910-2004) papers
Dates/Extent : 1960s-2004, 3 linear ft.
Description : Vito Girone was an architect, city planner, painter, and industrial designer who won the First Prize at the American Academy in Rome in 1939-1940 and later taught at Notre Dame and at the University of Kentucky until 1975. The collection includes exhibition announcements, articles on Girone, articles on other architects with Girone's annotations, correspondence, including letters exchanged between Girone and architectural historian Will Morgan, Girone's architectural sketches, and photographs of the architect and his buildings. Finding aid for the Girone papers.
George Herbert Gray (1874-1945) papers
Dates/Extent : 1919-1922, 1.5 linear ft.
Description : George Herbert Gray was architect, author, and proponent of city and state planning. He was a U.S. Army Major and Commandant at the American Expeditionary Forces School of Art at Bellevue, Seine-et-Oise, France, from 1919 to 1920. His papers concern the American Expeditionary Forces with curricula, a complete list of faculty, lecturers, and administrative staff, copies of lectures given, and student rosters. Also present are charming and sometimes skillfully illustrated student reports on city planning. Gray's personal correspondence relates to the school and its activities. Also present are lists of slides, photographs, and books on city planning, field trip study notes, and copies of a paper written for the New York Times Magazine, July 27, 1919, by George S. Hellman, director of the program's department of the fine arts. Gray's program at Bellevue is notable as the first such educational effort by the U.S. Army. The collection also includes 23 architectural plans and drawings.Finding aid for the Gray architectural plans and drawings.
Gillette Good Griffin letters
Dates/Extent : 1956-1966, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Twenty-two letters from art historian Gillette Good Griffin to University of Louisville professor Robert J. Doherty and his family, written between 1956 and 1966. Griffin wrote generally of personal matters and illustrated many of the letters. Also present are two photographs of Griffin.
Victor Karl Hammer (1882-1967) collection
Dates/Extent : 1950-1970, 5 linear ft.
Description : Victor Hammer, Austrian-born artist, printer, typographer, book craftsman, sculptor, and painter, taught at Transylvania University in Lexington, Kentucky, from 1948 until 1952. This collection includes exhibition catalogs; correspondence; sketches; samples of his typographic work; obituaries; articles; pamphlets, including On Classic Art; and book announcements. Finding Aid for the Victor Hammer Collection
Julia Duke Henning (1901-1996) collection
Dates/Extent : 1920s, .5 linear ft.
Description : Julia Duke Henning was a Louisville painter who exhibited from the 1940s to the 1960s. This collection consists of two scrapbooks, one of photographs from Henning’s trips to France, Greece, Italy, Constantinople and England (1925-1926), and one of postcards from Greece and articles on archaeology.
Ainslie Hewett (1880-1963) papers
Dates/Extent : ca. 1910- , 2.5 linear ft.
Description : Ainslie Hewett was an artist and designer best know for his distinctive bookplates. Approximately one hundred of the 132 bookplates known to be designed by the artist are included in this collection, along with original drawings for bookplates and woodcuts, ten cut copper plates, artist's proofs, articles by and about him, and a checklist of his work. Also present are his advertisements and his price list for designing bookplates and family coats of arms, and for giving instruction in woodcarving. The collection includes scrapbooks of his work and exhibition notices, two framed coats of arms, and his reference collection. A small selection of the work of noted American and European bookplate artists and engravers, examples of Gothic design elements, and ornamental and heraldic details and devices are present, as well as several of Hewett's own hand lettered poems. View the digital collection: Hewett Bookplates and Finding Aid for the Ainslie Hewett Papers.
Allen Rose Hite (1865-1941) papers
Dates/Extent : 1929-1946, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : This collection of material relating to businessman and civic leader Allen Rose Hite and his wife Marcia Shallcross Warren Hite (1876-1946) includes biographies referring to the Hite, Rose, Lewis, Shallcross, and Warren families, and descriptive material on the Jacob Lewis pottery in Louisville and steamboats. Additional material includes the will of Allen Rose Hite and an appreciation written by Barry Bingham concerning Hite's bequest to the University of Louisville fine arts department, with a foreword by University of Louisville President Raymond A. Kent. The collection also documents activities of Marcia Shallcross Hite as an artist, including letters, lists of her paintings, and exhibition catalogs.
Carl Holty (1900-1973) papers
Dates/Extent : 1962-1965, 7 folders
Description : Painter Carl Holty was professor of fine arts at the University of Louisville from 1962 to 1964. This collection includes biographies of the artist; correspondence; notices of his exhibitions and lectures; and reviews. Also present is a portrait from the book jacket of his book The Painter's Mind (1969).
Kentucky and Regional Publications (mostly serials)
Dates/Extent : 1926-2012, 7 boxes
Description : Collection of varying serials and journals, exhibit catalogs and other documents about art in Kentucky, Indiana, and Ohio.
Kentucky Watercolor Society records
Dates/Extent : 1977- ; 2.5 linear ft., 3 volumes
Description : The Kentucky Watercolor Society records document its activities, particularly the annual exhibition Kentucky Watercolor Society Aqueous show, with public relations materials from 1990 to 1993, minutes of the board from 1977 to 1994, bylaws, directories, exhibition information, catalogs, correspondence, slides of entries since 1978, and the organization newsletter from 1978 to 1995. Finding Aid for the Kentucky Watercolor Society Records
Robert Kingsley (1942-1993) papers
Dates/Extent : 1970s-1992, 55 linear ft.
Description : Robert Kingsley, architect and winner of Paris Prize for Architecture in 1972, was responsible for the Humana Waterside Center, the Presbyterian National Headquarters, the Kentucky School for the Blind auditorium, the Filson Club addition, the Humana Conference and Fitness Center, all in Louisville, and for many residences. This collection of his work includes architectural drawings, blueprints, and exhibition boards, along with slides and microfilm and a copy of the proposal for his Conceptual Sketches as Visual Language. Also present are copies of articles mentioning his work and his obituary.Finding Aid for the Kingsley Papers
Romuald Kraus (1891-1954) papers
Dates/Extent : 1920s-1954, 3.5 linear ft.
Description : Romuald Kraus, Austrian-born sculptor best known for the statue of "Justice" in the Newark, New Jersey, federal courtroom, taught at the Cincinnati Art Academy before coming to the University of Louisville in 1947 where he taught until his death in 1954. Among the personal papers in this collection are the files of correspondence between Kraus and his wife Esther, various Kraus relatives, the sculptor Henry Kreis, and others. The collection also includes Kraus' sketchbooks and exhibition lists, along with biographical information about Kraus and his brother Leo, catalogs, articles, and photographs related to "Justice" and Kraus' other work. Finding Aid for the Romuald Kraus Collection
Alma Lesch (1917-1999) Collection
Dates/Extent : 15.5 linear ft.
Description : Alma Lesch, fiber artist and educator, taught at the Louisville School of Art and the University of Louisville. An Honorable Fellow of the Kentucky Guild of Artists and Craftsmen, she received the Kentucky Governor's Award for Lifetime Contribution to the Visual Arts in 1987. Her work has been exhibited internationally. The papers in this collection include correspondence with galleries, museums and schools concerning exhibitions and workshops; articles in newspapers and magazines about Alma Lesch; exhibition catalogs which include Lesch's work; supporting materials for workshops Lesch conducted; publications and newsletters from Shakertown; articles, newspaper clippings and ephemera on various art-related topics; lists of students and other documents from her tenure at UofL. Finding Aid for the Alma Lesch Collection
Blaine Lewis, M.D. (1919-2001) Collection
Dates/Extent : 1963-2000, 1.5 linear ft.
Description : The Blaine Lewis, M.D. Collection contains biographical information and photographs, programs printed for a number of medical societies, a series of Christmas cards produced by his Innominate Press, as well as printed sheets produced for publication in It's a Small World, an annual journal of works by printing hobbyists. Unbound sheets for books published by his press are also included, as well as smaller publications, a history of the press and a bibliography. There are also financial records, a record of books on printing that he purchased, plates used in publishing, and various posters, flyers and keepsakes. Finding Aid for the Blaine Lewis, M.D. Collection
Louisville Outdoor Art League Papers
Dates/Extent : 1908-1956, 2 linear ft.
Description : The Louisville Outdoor Art League was organized on March 22, 1902 for the purpose of promoting "the conservation of natural scenery; the acquirement of lands for public parks and reservations; advancement of all outdoor arts; the designing and fitting of grounds for public and private use and enjoyment; efforts toward the abolishment of all unsightly object; to cultivate artistic ideals in the home and to further the highest interests of education." The collection consists of the League’s minutes from 1928 to 1941 (4 notebooks), scrapbooks from 1908 to 1956 (7 volumes); a pamphlet published on the 50th anniversary of the League’s founding; and one notebook of miscellaneous papers.
Louisville Visual Art Association research materials
Dates/Extent : 1984, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Research notes from Madeline Covi for the book Tapestry of an Art Association, 1909-1984, by Madeline Covi, Dorothy Kohnhorst Hodapp and Charlotte Price, published in Louisville by the Water Tower Art Association, 1984. Includes proposal to the Kentucky Humanities Council for research and publication funding; documents from the records of the Louisville Art Association; notes on index cards and legal pad; articles resulting from the publication of the book and the concomitant exhibition in 1984; correspondence related to the book and exhibition.
Tom Marsh (1934-1991) letters
Dates/Extent : 1961-1964, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Tom Marsh founded the ceramics program at the University of Louisville in 1971 and taught until his death in 1991. His work reflected his study in Japan and his ongoing involvement with Japanese ceramic traditions and culture. Examples of Marsh pottery are in permanent collections of mluseums worldwide, including the Museuml of Modern Art in Kamajura, Japan. This collection includes letters written by Tom Marsh during his stay in Japan from 1961 to 1964, along with transcriptions by Julia Duncan of some of the letters, and three catalogs with notes.
Frank Jewett Mather Award for Art Criticism archive
Dates/Extent : 1955, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Entries submitted for the second annual award for best newspaper and magazine art criticism by Louise Aaron, Gertrude Benson, Dushan Bresky, Howard Derrickson, Robert Kimball, Michael Lenson, Paul B. Metzler, Arthur Millier, Doris Reno, Bertha Fanning Taylor, and Carl Weiselberger. University of Louisville art professor Creighton Gilbert chaired the jury for this College Art Association competition in 1955.
Frederic L. Morgan (1889-1970) papers
Dates/Extent : 1920-1970, 15 linear ft.
Description : Frederic L. Morgan was an architect designing homes and public buildings in Louisville and elsewhere in Kentucky. These papers consist mainly of Morgan's files relating to his designs, with clippings, blue prints and drawings, and some biographical material. Finding Aid for the Frederic L. Morgan Papers
William Morgan (1944- ) manuscripts
Dates/Extent : 1976-1981, 1 linear ft.
Description : Materials relating to the architectural historian, including typed manuscripts of his books Collegiate Gothic: The Architecture of Rhodes College(1989), Bucks County : photographs of early architecture (1974), done in collaboration with Aaron Siskind, and a brochure, New Architecture in Louisville (ca. 1975). The file also includes letters from readers of his newspaper column in the Louisville Courier-Journal.
Oppenheim, Erika, 1905-2008, designer for Reynolds Metals, painter
Dates/Extent : 1947-2003
Description : Illustrations for the children’s books, Christoph und Christinchen erleben Cristkinchens Werkstatt (1947) and Wie Irene die Angst vor der Schule verlor (n.d.) including a typescript of the text written by Oppenheim; unbound book on costumes by Fritzi Mally, Deutsche Trachten aus den Sudentenlandern ; figure drawings by Oppenheim.; and personal interview paper prepared by Delinda Stephens Buie in 2003.
Nelle Peterson (1906-1966) Christmas card collection
Dates/Extent : ca. 1940- , ca. 500 items
Description : Nelle Peterson, artist and teacher, was director of the Art Center Association school in Louisville from 1959 to 1966. This Christmas card collection consists of over five hundred original Christmas cards, mainly by Kentucky artists, collected by Peterson. Other original cards have been added since 1966. List of artists included in the collection
Edgard Pillet (1912- ) papers
Dates/Extent : 1955-1956, 8 folders
Description : Artist Edgar Pillet was visiting professor of painting at the University of Louisville from 1955 to 1956. The papers include articles by and about Pillet; biographies; correspondence concerning his teaching appointment at the University and at the Art Center; exhibition catalogs and notes concerning his exhibitions; material on Pillet's film Genese, and photographs of his sculptures.
Paul Plaschke (1880-1954) cards and photographs
Dates/Extent : 1921-1952, 1 folder
Description : Paul Plaschke, an illustrator, landscape and portrait painter, was well-known locally for his work as a cartoonist for The Louisville Times and theCourier-Journal. This collection includes fifteen original greeting cards drawn by Plaschke and sent to George Lauer, several photographs of Plashke, and a small, 15 page, printed booklet assembled by Minnie Winkler with dozens of examples of Plaschke's cartoon figure, the Monk.
Richard C. Pope papers
Dates/Extent : 1960 - 1965?, 2 folders
Description : Correspondence relating to Mr. Pope's appointment to teach at UofL; biographical resume.
Dates/Extent : 1971-1972, 1 folder
Description : Charlotte Price is a sculptor who has been active in arts organizations in Louisville. This folder includes typescripts of many of her art columns that appeared in the Voice Jeffersonian. Photocopies of most of the articles are in the Price artist file folder in the Art Library. The folder also includes two brief notes from David Hostetler to Price.
Paul Sawyier (1865-1917) papers
Dates/Extent : 1930-1970, 1.5 linear ft.
Description : Paul Sawyier was an artist known for his Kentucky landscapes. This extensive file, compiled by Kentucky geologist and historian Willard R. Jillson (1890-1975), includes nine notebooks of biographical material and manuscripts relating to them, along with correspondence between Jillson and members of Sawyier's family and friends, original letters from Sawyier, material relating to his sweetheart Mayme Bull, and a contract between Sawyier and C. F. Brower and Company of Lexington regarding the sale of his watercolor work. Also among the papers are photographs of Sawyier's especially significant work, with documentation of the paintings and their owners, and primary source material including photographs of Sawyier and his family, and a scrapbook compiled by Mayme Bull. Finding Aid for the Paul Sawyier Papers
Kaye Seekamp collection
Dates/Extent : August 11, 1946 – August 25, 1985, 1 linear ft.
Description : A fashion illustrator for Louisville department stores and specialty shops, Kaye Seekamp graduated from Loretto High School in 1945. By the mid-eighties, with the advent of computers, fashion illustration was no longer a viable career. Seekamp returned to school and in 1992 received her bachelor’s degree from the University of Louisville. She completed her Master’s degree in 1996, also at UofL. The collection consists primarily of ads published in the Courier-Journal and other local newspapers. There is also a small amount of original artwork. Finding Aid for the Kaye Seekamp collection
Shakers, United Society of Believers papers and photographs
Dates/Extent : 1938-1965, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : This collection of research material was compiled by Adele Brandeis. The material includes extensive information gathered by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) on the tenets, organization, worship, communities, reputation, leading personalities, daily life, dress, education of children, handicrafts and industries of the United Society of Believers, with a bibliography. There are also pamphlets and articles on the Pleasant Hill Colony at Harrodsburg, Kentucky, and the Darrow School in Lebanon, New York. A 1965 letter from Sister Mildred Barker, of the Shaker Quarterly, Sabbathday Lake, in Maine asks Brandeis to contribute an article to Shaker Quarterly. An unrelated collection in the Photographic Archives documents the Shaker community at Pleasant Hill with twenty-three silver gelatin prints by Walter Creese, University of Louisville art professor, showing architectural details of the community now known as Shakertown, Kentucky, before its restoration. Part of the collection is in the Photographic Archives, Ekstrom Library.
Gideon Shryock (1802-1880) research materials
Dates/Extent : 1928-1971, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : This collection documents the career and studies of 19th-century Kentucky architect Gideon Shryock who designed the old capitol at Frankfort and the Jefferson County Courthouse in Louisville. Although the materials are primarily secondary sources, they provide an extensive amount of information about Shyrock with research papers by Pamela Thompson (1962), Helen Duke Miller (1945), and Caroline Price (1943); several notes by Justus Bier; newspaper articles by Mary Jane Gallaher and Melville O. Briney; a copy of a deposition of Shryock in William Kaye vs. Bank of Louisville, November 29, 1837; magazine articles by Rexford Newcomb, Alfred Andrews, and Talbot Hamlin; letters from Arthur Scully, Elizabeth Shryock Field, C. Frank Dunn; a photocopied letter from Clay Lancaster to Justus Bier; two typewritten articles by Elizabeth Shryock on Gideon Shryock (gifts of the Avery Memorial Library, Columbia University); and copies of forms completed on Shyrock's buildings for the National Register.
Robert Thompson (1937-1966) papers
Dates/Extent : 1960-1966, 1.5 linear ft.
Description : Robert (Bob) Thompson was a Kentucky-born African American figurative painter who worked primarily in New York in the 1960s. This collection includes biographies and family data, pictures of photographs of Thompson and his family, letters to his mother, articles about him, exhibition catalogs and reviews, obituary notices, announcements of memorial services held, and two tapes of the memorial services in New York. Also present are two sketches by the artist and a record album cover illustrated with one of his paintings and other miscellaneous items. Most of the materials were donated by his mother Bessie Thompson. Finding Aid for the Bob Thompson Papers
Richard Thuss ( - 1945) photographs
Dates/Extent : 1937-1945, 0.5 linear feet
Description : Sculptor Richard Thuss, born in Nuremberg, studied in Vienna, Munich and Nuremberg. Late in life he lived in Cincinnati. The collection consists of one photo album of some of the sculptural work of Thuss in Cincinnati. The photographs were donated by Cincinnati photographer Gordon Baer. Also included is a DVD of the photographs, two obituaries (1945) and two newspaper articles (1937) from Cincinnati newspapers.
Eileen Toutant Papers
Dates/Extent : 1979-2000, 3 linear ft.
Description : Eileen Toutant received her Master’s and Doctoral degrees from the University of Louisville in 1987 and 1999 respectively. Her thesis was titled, Figural representation in early Scandinavian art; her dissertation was titled New Deal murals in Kentucky post offices. Two boxes in this collection contain materials gathered doing research murals in Kentucky post offices. The third box contains notebooks with class notes, notes on readings and student papers on Louisville architecture. Finding Aid for the Eileen Toutant Papers
Walter Ufer (1876-1936) letters
Dates/Extent : 1922-1928, 1 folder
Description : Ufer, born in Louisville, was a member of the Taos Founders, also known as the Taos Society of Artists, and part of the Taos Eight. This folder contains copies of two letters from Walter Ufer. One is to Robert Harshe, director of the Art Institute of Chicago relaying details of his biography. The other is to Gertrude Herdle, director of the Rochester Memorial Art Gallery, and concerns his painting Solemn Pledge, and his life in Taos for an article Herdle was writing.
University of Louisville Art Workshops papers
Dates/Extent : 1975-1982, 1 linear ft.
Description : From 1975 to 1982 Julia Duncan directed art workshops at the University of Louisville. These papers include photographs, slides, biographical information on and correspondence with workshop leaders. Duncan was able to offer classes with both local and nationally prominent artists, including Richard Daehnert, Franzee Dolbeare, Kathy Kelm, Ed Lambert, Alma Lesch, Joan Michaels Paque, Mary Walker Phillips, Sister May Remy Revor, Jon Riis, Arturo Sandoval, and Mahboob Shahzaman. Finding Aid for the University of Louisville Art Workshops
Dates/Extent : 1944-1946, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Manuscripts by Douglas Morton, Architecture Old and New and The Buildings of the Louisville Architect Henry Whitestone; notes on Whitestone buildings; letter from Whitestone’s granddaughter, Mrs. Edward David Morton.
Who's Who in Kentucky Art
Dates/Extent : 1960s, 1 linear ft.
Description : This file provides a snapshot of Kentucky artists in the 1960s with approximately one hundred questionnaires completed by artists in the Kentuckiana region during this period. Finding Aid for Who's Who in Kentucky Art
Violet Bruner Windell papers
Dates/Extent : 3 boxes
Description : Artists' Books and correspondence.
Ulfert Wilke (1907-1988) papers
Dates/Extent : 1948-1963, 0.5 linear ft.
Description : Papers relating to the artist's appointment by the Allen R. Hite Institute in 1948 and his resignation in 1964, with his curriculum vitae and other biographical notes. The collection also includes his correspondence with Justus Bier and others, materials concerning his exhibitions and collections, and writings by and about Wilke. Also,two letters from Ulfert Wilke to James Johnson Sweeney. One letter concerns Wilke acting as middle man between a Mrs. Boudeman and Mr. Sweeney for the sale of some objects for which 10 pictures are included with Wilke’s annotations. The other is a personal letter about his family, an exhibit of his art collection geared for children, an upcoming exhibit of his work, etc. The letters were donated by Edie Bingham via Sweeny’s son who was a friend of Barry Bingham’s.
World's Fair memorabilia
Dates/Extent : 1893-1970, 1 linear ft.
Description : Souvenirs, including tickets, programs, advertisements, pamphlets, postcards, and newspaper articles related to the World Columbian Exposition in Chicago in 1893; the Philadephia World's Fair in 1876; the 1898 Fair in Omaha; the St. Louis Fair in 1904; the Fair again in Chicago in 1933 and again in New York in 1939; the Seattle Fair in 1962; the New York World's Fair in 1964; the Expo in Montreal in 1967; and the World's Fair in Osaka in 1970.
Enid Yandell (1870-1934) sculpture photographs
Dates/Extent : 1901, .1 linear ft.
Description : 4 black and white photographs of the Carrie Brown Memorial Fountain, officially known as the Bajnotti Memorial Fountain, in Providence, Rhode Island. The fountain, designed by Yandell, came from a bequest by Paul Bajnotti of Turin, Italy in memory of his late wife, Carrie Brown of Providence. Also, one black and white photograph of a bust believed to be by Yandell. The photographs were originally in the Speed Museum and acquired by the Art Library in 2011.
Mary Yeiser (1905 - 2008) papers
Dates/Extent : 1934 - 2001, 3 linear ft.
Description : Mary Yeiser, born in Paducah, Kentucky in 1905, studied art in America and abroad. She taught at Paducah Junior College and was the impetus behind the founding of the Paducah Art Guild, later renamed the Yeiser Art Center. This collection consists of articles, miscellaneous letters, biographical materials, correspondence between Yeiser and Geza Gilbert Foldes, typescripts and proofs for the book and video about Geza Gilbert Foldes' method with related correspondence, slides and transparencies of Yeisers works and a video of Yeisers apartment. Finding Aid for the Mary Yeiser Papers