This is the "Books" page of the "Iconography and Iconology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University of Louisville
University Libraries
Research Guides
 

Iconography and Iconology  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2013 URL: http://louisville.libguides.com/Icon Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Sources

Barockthemen: Eine Auswahl Von Verzeichnissen Zur Ikonographie Des 17 und 18 Jahrhunderts. (Pigler, A.) 
ART N 6410 .P5 2 vols. 

Volume 1 covers religious subjects; volume 2 profane subjects. Under each theme there is a brief list of references describing the scene plus a list of artists who depicted it, divided by artists' nationalities.

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art. (Hall, J.)
ART Ref N 7560 .H34 2008

A reference on themes and symbols in European art beginning with classical Greece. A bibliography of sources is found at the beginning.

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography; Themes Depicted in Works of Art (Roberts, H.) 
ART Ref N 7565 .E53 1998

Shows how biblical, mythological and other themes have been used in art and how the interpretations have changed in different ages and cultures. Treats themes such as betrayal, expulsion, harvesting, etc. Has extensive indexes and bibliographies.

An Introduction to Iconography. (Straten, Roelof van) 
ART N 7565 .S7713 1994

Explains, for the first time in English and in one source, the ways artists use references and allusions to create meaning; presents the historical, theoretical, and practical aspects of iconography and Iconoclass, the comprehensive iconographical indexing system developed by Henri van de Waal.

Nature and its Symbols. (Impelluso, L.)
ART Ref N 7680 .I4713 2004

Includes plants, fruit, flowers, animals, insects and imaginary creatures.

Symbols and Allegories in Art (Battistini, Matilde) 
ART N 7740 .B2913 2005 

This dictionary provides various keys to interpreting images and hidden meanings in paintings.

The Ripa Index. (Okayama, Yassu) 
ART N 7740 .O53 1992

This volume indexes about 1500 personifications, conceits, symbols, etc. according to their attributes, based on Iconoclass, an iconographic classification system. The information is taken from five different editions of Cesare Ripa's Iconologia, in which he collected allegories, personifications, etc. that were widely used by artists and writers, especially during the Baroque period. See Straten, above.

Encyclopedia of Themes and Subjects in Painting. (Daniel, H. )
ART Ref ND 1288 .D3 1971 

This is a dictionary of "the most common recurring subjects to be found in European painting from the early renaissance to the mid 19th century." The subjects included come from mythological, biblical, historical, literary and allegorical sources.

Illustrated Dictionary of Narrative Painting. (Thomas, Anabel) 
ART Ref ND 1288 .T45 1994

Based on the collection of London's National Gallery, this volume explains the stories behind the paintings. Sources include Greek and Roman myths, Bible stories, medieval lives of saints and history.
 

Religious Sources

Dictionary of Christian Art. (Apostolos-Cappadona, D.) 
ART Ref BV 150 .A66 1994

Designed as a basic reference for students interested in Christian art from the viewpoint of art history, biblical studies, church history, or Christian theology. Includes saints, biblical and mythological individuals who have been the subject of Christian art, symbols and topics.

Iconography of the Counter Reformation in the Netherlands. (Knipping, J.) 
ART N 6946 .K513 2 vols. 

Scholarly chapters with notes and many images.

Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art. (Apostolos-Cappadona, D.) 
ART Ref N 7793 .W65A66 1996<

This book has more than 2,000 entries which provide identifying information and a description of each female figure's iconographic pattern in religious art.

Iconographie de l'Art Chretien. (Reau, L.) 
ART N 7830 .R37 3 vols. in 6 parts. 

Volume 1 has articles on sources and the evolution of Christian iconography; on animal, human and liturgical symbolism; and on iconography of saints. Volume 2 concerns the iconography of the Old and New Testaments and volume 3 concerns the iconography of the saints.

Iconography of Christian Art and Ikonographie der Christlichen Kunst. (Schiller, G.) 
ART N 7830 .S3513, .S35

Volumes 1 and 2, in English, pertain to Christ's incarnation, childhood, baptism, temptation, transfiguration, works and miracles. Volumes 3 through 5, in German, concern the resurrection and ascension, the church and Mary.

The Bible and the Saints. (Duchet-Suchaux, G.) 
ART Ref N 8080 .D8213 1994

Designed to help identify scenes containing saints or bible figures. Includes Old and New Testament and subject entries.

Icons and Saints of the Eastern Orthodox Church. (Tradigo, Alfredo)
ART Ref N 8187.5 .T7313 2006 

This guides catalogs icons according to type and subject.

Iconographic Index to New Testament Subjects Represented in Photographs and Slides of Paintings in the Visual Collections...Harvard. Narrative Paintings of the Italian School. (Roberts, H.) 
ART ND 1430 .R6 1992

Alphabetically arranged artist listings under subjects give title of work and location.

Iconographic Index to Old Testament Subjects Represented in Photographs and Slides...Harvard. (Roberts, H.) 
ART ND 1430 .R63

Provides access to Old Testament and Apocrypha subjects. Includes indexes to concepts, terms and proper names.
 

Religious Sources - Saints

The Penguin Dictionary of Saints. (Attwater, D.) 
ART Ref BX 4655.8 .A8

A work of quick reference to the lives and legends of the saints.

The Golden Legend: Readings on the Saints. (Jacobus de Voragine) 
ART BX 4654 .J334 1993 2 vols.

Popular religious stories collected during the 13th century. The legends of the saints are arranged by the calendar of their feast days.

Post-Biblical Saints Art Index. (Rochelle, M.) 
ART Ref N 8079.5 .R63 1994

A subject index listing art works by individual depicted. Includes bibliography and an institutional directory.

Saints in Italian Art. (Kaftal, G.) 

Each volume of this work covering frescoes and paintings from the 2nd to early 16th century has scholarly entries accompanied by black and white images. Each volume is divided in two, the first with alphabetically arranged entries of saints, the second with indices.
  • Vol.1 Iconography of the Saints in Tuscan Painting.
    ART N 8080 .K25
  • Vol 2 Iconography of the Saints in Central and South Italian Schools of Painting.
    ART N 8080 .K24
  • Vol 3 Iconography of the Saints in the Painting of East Italy.
    ART N 8080 .K247
  • Vol.4 Iconography of the Saints in the Painting of North West Italy.
    ART N 8080 .K2473
 

Classical and Mythological Sources

Gods and Heroes of Classical Antiquity. (Aghion, Irene) 
ART Ref N 7760 .A34 1996

This book discusses the myths and legends that formed the basis of Western culture and have inspired artists over the centuries. Arranged by legend, each entry includes sections on history/mythology, representations, and a concise bibliography.

Lexikon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae.
ART Ref N 7760 .L49 1981 14 vols. 

Scholarly articles in German, French, Italian or English on iconography of Greek, Etruscan and Roman mythology from after the Mycenean period to the beginning of Early Christianity.

Oxford Classical Dictionary.
ART Ref DE 5 .O9

Detailed entries with bibliographic references. Although there are no images, this work can be used with Lexikon Iconographicum (see above).

Mythological and Classical World Art Index: A Locator of Paintings, Sculpture, Frescoes...1200 -1900. (Rochelle, M.) 
ART N 7760 .R63 1991

Includes index of figures and artists as well as a bibliography and an institutional directory.

 

 

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

University of Louisville

Louisville, Kentucky 40292

phone

PHONE

tel (502) 852-6747

fax (502) 852-8736

mail
star
star
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip